Wednesday, 3 March 2010

Summer Sambas - Duncan Lamont

"The bossa nova had it's brief moment of hit parade glory in Britain at the beginning of the last decade in the shape of Antonio Carlos Jobim's Desafinado, but it's influence has remained constant in popular music ever since. The soft, subtle beat of Brazil's modern Samba can be heard everyday on the radio airwaves as arrangers draw upon it for colour and contrast in their scores, and it has joined and largely superceded the beguine and the bolero in this respect. It is a matter of regret that we seldom hear genuine Brazilian tunes over those same radio airwaves, but at least the bossa nova rhythm has firmly and permanently implanted itself on the map of international pop music."
Nigel Hunter

Duncan Lamont: tenor saxophone
Kenny Baldock: double-bass
Alan Branscombe: tuned percussion and electric piano
Ike Isaacs: guitar
George Kish: electric guitar
Denis Lopez: Latin percussion
Art Morgan: drums
Roger Webb: piano

Side One

1 Summer Samba (So Nice)
2 Our Day Will Come
3 The Look Of Love
4 We've Only Just Begun
5 Gentle One
6 Alone Again

Side Two

1 Felicidade/Samba de Orfeo
2 Destination Love
3 Wave
4 My Cherie Amour
5 Mas Que Nada
6 The Fool On The Hill

MFP 50080 - (p) 1973 The Gramophone Co. Ltd.

No comments:

Post a Comment